Alice Through the Looking Glass.

Directed by: Tim Burton


The sequel to Alice in Wonderland came out Memorial Weekend 2016, and got mixed reviews. But I recently watched it, and formed my own opinion of the movie.

I am a giant fan of Mia Wasikowska, and love her performance in Jane Eyre with all my heart. I also enjoy her playing the role of Alice, as her gentleness and soft tone go well with the innocent character.

The movie itself is beautiful, the sets, the colors, and Danny Elfman’s music all bring Carroll’s vibrant world of Underland to the screen. It is visually stunning in all aspects.

20160304-2016-03-16-alice-wardrobe-57

The costumes and makeup are all so amazing and lovely on the eyes. I mean, LOOK AT THIS. It’s stunning.

The plot, hmm. Was a bit lackluster, but I still enjoyed it. Through the Looking Glass is a movie with no consequences and no emotional moments. Every once in a while I like this, because then I don’t get stressed out worrying about the safety of the characters. But I read the books, and this is Disney, so it’s not like they would’ve killed off Alice or the Hatter.

alice_through_lookingglass_trailer-1024x553alice_through_lookingglass_tease

Over all, I really liked it. I am a fan of the world and characters, and it was a feel-good movie. It was goofy, and a bit overdone, but I am a fan.

Side note: I need to re-watch Alice in Wonderland, I haven’t seen it since it was in theaters!

My favorite line, “I’ve always wondered when ‘soon’ is.” (From the Hatter).

null

Have a great weekend!

All the best,

Jamie.

Leave a Reply

